Last month I bought my third boat. I found a 1979 Morgan 462 ketch in southern California. This particular boat is hull number 21. It is a center cockpit with a large aft cabin and two heads. It doesn’t have the Scheel keel design. As best I can tell, I’m the seventh owner of the boat. With that many previous owners and over that many years, there have been many changes to the boat and each owner had a particular part of the boat which interested him and others which he neglected.

My plan is to restore and upgrade the boat to blue water capability. I’m hoping to find the community of other Morgan 462 owners. I want to do the usual comparing of notes and sharing of ideas.

Today I’ll return to the boat to finish undoing the changes made to the galley, which include extracting a household fridge.

